Octo Telematics among Latest Endorsements for EU eCall System
Five more EU Member States have signed the eCall MoU, as well as other individual organizations.
Five more EU Member States (Belgium, Denmark, Luxemburg, Malta and Romania) signed the eCall Memorandum of Understanding at a ceremony in Brussels on 4th May. In doing so, they are joining the 15 EU countries and 3 other European countries which have committed to deploying eCall (Austria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Greece, Italy, Lithuania, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, The Netherlands, Sweden Iceland, Norway and Switzerland), as well as Octo Telematics and several other individual organizations. The system has now received formal backing of 90 signatories, including mobile phone operators as well as Europe's car manufacturers.

eCall automatically dials Europe's single emergency number 112 in case of a severe crash and transfers the exact location of the accident and other essential information to the nearest emergency service. It is estimated that eCall could save up to 2500 lives per year when fully deployed and mitigate the consequences of severe accidents in over 15 percent of cases due to reduced response time of emergency services.

In 2008, more than 1.2 million accidents on Europe's roads caused around 39,000 deaths and more than 1.7 million injuries. The eCall system is estimated to cost less than €100 per new car to install. To fully deploy eCall, national administrations must ensure that their emergency services call centres are equipped to handle the calls and all new vehicles must be equipped with eCall technology.


© Copyright M2M Insight 2010-2015. All rights reserved.
M2M Insight, Viktoriagatan 3, 411 25 Gothenburg, Sweden,   Legal Notice    Privacy Policy
LBS Insight M2M Insight OSS Insight
MWC Americas 120 x 600